3/26/2012.

Hey everyone! So yes this is my 3rd blog post in a row.. Normally it doesn’t happen this way so I’m pretty proud of myself for picking up the slack 🙂

So today was supposed to be the first day of classes, but of course I decided not to go. Not that I dislike my classes, but sometimes I don’t feel like showing up for 2 hours and leaving especially when the same material is available for review online. So instead I took the doggie out, blew through a roll of film downtown, picked up some new pants (mine have crotch blowouts), developed the roll I shot today, and headed to work.

The images below were shot on my Kodak Retina IIa (you’ve seen it probably as I posted a photo of it on facebook the other day). This camera is pretty cool mainly because it’s older than my mom. It was produced from 1951-1954 and still works great. It’s an older lens so the images I get from it have that “dated look” about them it’s kind of cool. Modern lenses probably have better optics, but for me photography is so much more than having a technically perfect image. I like having that “film look” to my shots, I like having the occasional blurry image that looks cool, I like developing my own film, etc etc. If I was looking for perfect I would have bought a 5D Mk II ages ago and called it a day. Instead, I like the romance involved in shooting film.

With that being said, I do like digital and will probably shoot my Nikon DSLR for the rest of the week. As many of you know, I jumped through like all the major camera companies and then I settled on Canon for a little while, but then decided to switch back to Nikon for my digital snaps mainly because after I sold all my Canon stuff I found a really good deal on my current set up. Also because I like being able to mount old Ai lenses from my Nikkormat to my D5000. Sure, it doesn’t meter but after shooting film for so long I don’t need a built in light meter anymore (another benefit of using film).

I was looking at my stats the other day and noticed that now I have a few people viewing my blog from South America, various places in Europe, and Korea 😀 I really do appreciate everyone taking the time to visit this blog of mine~

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

